Eight In Axeon At World Championships

Blog red
By Sean Weide
09 Oct 16

Doha, Qatar – Eight riders from the Axeon Hagens Berman Cycling Team will compete for their respective countries this week at the Under 23 UCI Road World Championships in Doha, Qatar.

Competition begins Monday for five riders with the individual time trial. Three national time trial champions - Geoffrey Curran (United States), Eddie Dunbar (Ireland) and Krists Neilands (Latvia) - will be joined by Tao Geoghegan Hart (Great Britain) and Neilson Powless (United States). The 28.9-kilometer race against the clock encircles the The Pearl, an artificial island spanning nearly four million square meters.

On Thursday, all nine Axeon Hagens Berman riders at the world championships will compete in the road race. The 165.7-kilometer race is planned for 10 laps of a 15.2-km circuit. However, high temperatures could see the race shortened. Joining the aforementioned riders are five more representing the United States: national pro road champion Greg Daniel, Colin Joyce and Justin Oien. Two other Americans, Adrien Costa and Tyler Williams, were eligible to compete in the road race but will not take the start.

Also, a number of Axeon Cycling alumni will be competing in the elite men's road race on Sunday, Oct. 16.

Cyclingfans.com provides a comprehensive source of broadcast details, including links to live broadcast sources: http://bit.ly/2dM92NU

In the United States, Universal HD will show delayed and replayed broadcasts:

    Monday: Men's Under 23 individual time trial, noon EDT/9 a.m. PDT (delayed)
    Monday: Men's Under 23 individual time trial, 11:30 p.m. EDT/8:30 p.m. PDT (replay)
    Thursday: Men's Under 23 road race, noon EDT/9 a.m. PDT (delayed)
    Thursday: Men's Under 23 road race, midnight/9 p.m. PDT (replay)

Follow all the events in Qatar on social media via the official hashtag, #UCIDoha2016.

Men's Under 23 individual time trial (28.9 km)

11:30 a.m.-3:50 p.m. local time

    Neilson Powless (United States) - 12:22 p.m.
    Krists Neilands (Latvia) - 2:12 p.m.
    Geoffrey Curran (United States) - 2:52 p.m.
    Tao Geoghegan Hart (Great Britain) - 2:54 p.m.
    Eddie Dunbar (Ireland) - 2:57 p.m.

Men's Under 23 road race (165.7 km)

Noon-3:55 p.m. local time

    Geoffrey Curran, Greg Daniel, Colin Joyce, Justin Oien and Neilson Powless (United States)
    Eddie Dunbar (Ireland)
    Tao Geoghegan Hart (Great Britain)
    Krists Neilands (Latvia)

More Axeon updates: